Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

efwefe

I know I’ve been so lame for waiting this long to read the Harry Potter series but, a great series truly never dies or loses its relevance. It’s been almost a decade since the last Harry Potter book was published but it still hasn’t lost its magic.

I’ve been wanting to read this book for months after I finished reading the Halfblood Prince– I just never had the time to do so since school took over my life. I didn’t want to force myself to read it in the midst of my stressfulness because I knew that I wouldn’t be able to finish it anyway. I wanted to read this book when I had time to myself when I wouldn’t be bothered by anything or anyone. I knew that a great book like this deserves my full attention.

Whenever my friend and I would talk about Harry Potter, they’d always say that I was such a loser for not finishing the entire series so I promised them that I would finish  reading the series before I graduate–And I’m glad to say that I finally did YAY!

If I would compare this book with the rest of the series, I’d say that this was the most action-packed and the most plot twist-filled. I certainly did not see a lot of things coming. I won’t go into detail cause I don’t spoil it for those of you who haven’t read it yet.

From the title of the book itself Deathly Hallows, I kind of anticipated that a lot of characters would die ( and because a lot of people have spoiled it for me). Although I don’t think the title was directly referring to the numerous deaths in the book. I think I’m just being really literal hahaha.

With that being said, I felt like a big ball of emotions while I was reading the book. The plot twists made me gasped like crazy and it certainly did make me feel guilty that I immediately judged the characters in the previous books. I really want to express all my feelings so there’s a lot of spoilers below the cut.

I really feel so bad for Snape! I always felt that he wasn’t totally bad and there was a reason for what he did but of course there were a lot of times when I despised him especially when he killed Dumbledore. When it was revealed that he was truly on  Dumbledore’s side and that he really loved Lily Potter, I was heart broken. When he said that he always cared for Harry, I crumbled into pieces. I felt so bad for Snape huhuhuhu!

I also felt this extreme sadness when Dobby the house elf died. I could certainly feel Harry’s pain. I just feel like such an emotional wreck after reading the book.

I really can’t put into words how I felt about the book. I felt happy to have reached the end of such amazing series. I felt like I’ve been through such a long journey  and that I somehow grew up with the characters. It feels really bittersweet. I wanted to finish the book but I didn’t want the story to end. I just feel so lost right now and I don’t know how will I ever start reading another book. I will certainly be hungover from this series and I don’t know how long this will last. I may have failed at describing how I exactly feel about this book but there is one thing I know, the series itself is magical.

5 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

  1. I love how you’ve put this off. I wish so badly I could experience what it was like to read these for the first time. Thanks for sharing the wonderful review! If you’re ever interested in some other awesome book reviews and musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!

Leave a comment